the perfect saturday

13Jun10

This Saturday was perfectly relaxing. My boyfriend came over and we made pizza. Well, more like I made pizza while he watched TV, but whatever. I’ve made bread-y things before but this was actually my first time working with yeast. It was surprisingly easier than I thought it would be. I used the recipe for the dough here: http://joylicious.net/2010/01/20/wolfgang-pucks-pizza-in-two-ways/

Since I don’t have a pizza stone like the recipe uses, I just used a circular cookie sheet and baked it at 460 degrees for 10 minutes (with the sauce and cheese and everything). I also painted a mixture of olive oil and garlic salt onto the crust and it was delicious.

The really fun part was my own invention though. Dessert pizza with strawberries, pineapple, white chocolate chips, and powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I used the same dough (the recipe made enough for two pans worth) and cut strawberries and pineapple into chunks and dried them off a little. Before sprinkling them on though, I painted the whole dough with melted butter.

Next, I added white chocolate chips and baked it, which was a little tricky. The white chocolate chips turned brown on top pretty quickly, so I had to be careful that they didn’t completely burn. There was also a lot of liquid from the fruit which complicated how the crust cooked.

I baked it for 5 minutes at 450 degrees (just a little less than regular pizza) and then took it out for a few minutes. When it was out of the oven, I used a paper towel to sop up some of the liquid from the fruit. I then put it back into the oven for 2-3 minutes. After it came out, I sopped up some more of the liquid, let it cool, and then sprinkled powdered sugar on top.

I was really surpised with how well it turned out. My boyfriend loved it too, as you can see by his smile 🙂

10 Responses to “the perfect saturday”

  1. 1 David Deerson

    the dessert pizza was whose invention?

    I can’t remember exactly who it was that decided we should have pinapples and white chocolate on a pizza…. but I have a pretty good idea

  2. 5 Jane

    Homemade pizza is the best! My dad and I found this recipe for “almost no-knead bread” and we make it together every time I’m in town. 🙂
    Come visit my inspiration board, galleryofinspiration.blogspot.com!

  3. 6 Jane

    No way! I go to Davidson! My roommate’s BF goes to Chapel Hill, though. 🙂

  4. I love homemade pizza, but I usually cheat and use the premade dough in the frozen section at the grocery store. I might have to check that recipe out, even though I’ve decided I really don’t care to make things involving yeast. I tried to make some croissants a month or so ago and they took forever, and in the end, I ended up baking them a little too long anyway. Ugh. Anyway, that pizza looks delicious (the normal one because I’m not in a sweet mood today!).

  5. i’m always too scared to attempt dessert pizza. you made it look so easy + delicious!

    xo Alison

  6. 10 David Deerson

    WE DEMAND UPDATES


Leave a Reply

